summer day in the life!

Hey guys! I’m back at it with a day in the life, except… summer edition! So today was a fairly busy day, with lots of different events.

IMG_1466

So I got up at about somewhere from 6-7 AM, spent some time in prayer (BEST way to start the day you guys), and then looked at my phone for a nice surprise! I had been trying to get in touch with some old friends via Instagram, and one of my best friends from the primary school I went to in Belgium when I was younger got back to me. Even though we haven’t seen each other in just under ten years, she remembered who I was and it was great to catch up a little. See, social media isn’t all bad.

Next, I went downstairs for some breakfast– I have a slight addiction to peanut butter chocolate cheerios lol. And what better to go with breakfast than some good ol SAT practice. I used Khan Academy’s SAT practice to do a few questions– I gotta do some homework over the summer. Today I also registered for the SAT, which is in December.

IMG_1889

After I got ready for the day, I headed out to the local library. Arthur says it best: “having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a library card.” Anyways, I went there to volunteer from 9-10. Today I mostly shelved books because I was only there for an hour– since my work schedule could have me working as early as 10:30 and the library opens at 9:00, I can only plan on volunteering in that time frame.

books on bookshelves
Photo by Mikes Photos on Pexels.com

Today, however, I worked only a short dinner rush shift (5:30-8) so most of my day was free 🙂 . I met up with some friends after my library volunteering to walk around our town’s nature trails and hang out downtown. We got lunch at our favorite food truck after walking around a bit, and then got coffee, which was A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. Iced coffee on a hot day is good for the soul.

IMG_1833

Next, I drove back home (gotta practice for my behind-the-wheel test!) to work on this here blog post and relax a little before the busy evening ahead. This evening I had an interview at the library (i know, the library again) for their Teen Advisory Board. The Board consists of juniors and seniors and they help decide library activities, as well as working on marketing the library to local teens.

The library interview went well! It was a group interview, which was something I wasn’t used to. I can’t wait to hear back lol

After the interview, I got in a little driving practice (again, my behind the wheel test is in a little more than a month!) and then went to work for a short 5:30-8:00 shift! I love my job as a cashier. As a shy person, I didn’t think I would like it at first but it has helped me improve my conversation skills. Along with this, I really agree with the ethics and the mission that my company has (for every meal you buy, a meal is donated).

Today at work was super busy. There was a concert at a venue right next to the restaurant so it was packed in every sense of the word.

After work, I drove home and then had some dinner. I watched not one, but two, episodes of How to Get Away With Murder. I still don’t know whether or not I like that show haha.

Then, off to bed sweet bed.

Leave a comment