how to get above a 30 on the ACT

When I took the ACT my freshman year, I got a 29. A 29 is by no means something to be upset about, but based on the colleges I was looking at at the time, it was not in my goal range.

However, when I took it this April, I was pleasantly surprised (read: shocked) when I found out that I scored a 34.

I think the key to this score increase was teamwork. Before the test, my friends and I took practice tests together and held each other accountable for studying. Not only did this help (my friends and I all got 33s and 34s!), but it made the pain of practicing for the ACT a little less unbearable.

In this post I’ll detail some strategies I used that caused my score increase.

 

  • Practice Tests: the ACT is all about strategy. For this reason, taking practice tests helps you get a feel for the timing and the type of questions they ask. I recommend taking once a month until it gets close to test time. Then, taking one every week is helpful. The week before the test, I did a section a night except for the night before the test. You can find practice tests online or you can buy the book.
  • Prep Books. I actually didn’t use a prep book this year, but I thought this was worth noting. I used a prep book last year mostly for the practice tests, and it was nice but maybe not worth the money for me when I had the option to print out practice tests. However, if you want to buy a prep book, I strongly suggest buying the official guide and not a Kaplan/Princeton Review/Barrons book because those practice tests are not always that similar to the real test.
  • Take Challenging Classes. For real though, taking hard classes prepares you for the ACT so much, especially math classes. Not only does taking hard classes keep your thinking skills sharp, but it also gives you an edge on some of the most difficult questions on the ACT so you truly feel like you have mastered the information.
  • Support System. Like I mentioned before, I prepared for the ACT with my friends. It was so helpful because 1) we could prep together and 2) we didn’t feel alone in our endeavors.
  • Pace yourself. You don’t have to be perfect with the ACT, so don’t go crazy with studying. Remember to sleep. Eat a nutritious breakfast before the test. Be confident and know that even if you don’t get the score you want you’ll be okay. Don’t compare yourself to others.

 

If you have any questions about the wonders of the ACT, leave them in the comments!

Leave a comment